5 Ways to Stay (Civically) Active During COVID-19 — Future Hindsight

If you haven’t figured out that we’re all about concrete actions for a better world-you might want to go back and listen a little more closely to our interviews. You can find all of them over on our episodes page! (Hint hint.)

If you’re like us, quarantine is hard because we’re supposed to stay home, avoid interaction, and generally avoid engaging with society. Luckily, there are still ways to remain engaged indoors and to help our fellow citizens who are less fortunate than we are. To that end, we’ve compiled a few ideas of ways to stay civically active during the pandemic.

If you’re unsure of where you want to donate, check out CharityNavigator’s handy guide to COVID giving.

Many of us may be stuck inside, but we aren’t helpless. We can help those working on the frontlines to speed up our return to normalcy by channeling our compassion and staying engaged in our society. We are all in this together, and so we might as well act like it.

WORKS CITED:

“Beto O’Rourke.” Future Hindsight, www.futurehindsight.com/episode/beto-orourke/.

Brewster, Signe. “How to 3D Print a Coronavirus Face Shield.” Wirecutter, Wirecutter, 6 Apr. 2020, thewirecutter.com/blog/3d-printer-coronavirus-face-shield/.

“Combating Extreme Poverty During COVID-19.” Future Hindsight, 12 Apr. 2020, www.futurehindsight.com/combating-extreme-poverty-during-covid-19/.

“Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19).” Charity Navigator, 16 Apr. 2020, www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=content.view&cpid=7779.

“COVID-19 Response Fund.” Donate to Feeding America — Feeding America, secure.feedingamerica.org/site/Donation2?28371.donation=form1&df_id=28371&mfc_pref=T&s_onsite_promo=take_action&s_src=Y20XG3F1Y&s_keyword=food%2520donation&s_subsrc=c.

“COVID-19 Special Edition.” Future Hindsight, www.futurehindsight.com/episode/covid-19-special-edition/.

“Episodes.” Future Hindsight, www.futurehindsight.com/episodes/.

“Food Bank For New York City.” Feeding America, www.feedingamerica.org/find-your-local-foodbank/food-bank-for-new-york-city.

Giordano, Medea. “How to Make a CDC-Approved Cloth Face Mask.” Wired, Conde Nast, www.wired.com/story/how-to-make-a-cloth-face-mask/.

“Help with COVID-19 (Coronavirus) by Volunteering Remotely or On-Site.” VolunteerMatch, www.volunteermatch.org/covid19.

“Home Page.” Give Blood, www.redcrossblood.org/.

“Love for the Elderly.” Love for the Elderly, lovefortheelderly.org/.

Ma, Michelle. “How You Can Donate Protective Equipment to Help Hospitals Fight Coronavirus.” The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones & Company, 3 Apr. 2020, www.wsj.com/articles/how-you-can-donate-protective-equipment-to-help-hospitals-fight-coronavirus-11585323638.

“Now Responding to Covid-19.” GiveDirectly, www.givedirectly.org/.

“Plasma Donations from Recovered COVID-19 Patients.” Give Blood, www.redcrossblood.org/donate-blood/dlp/plasma-donations-from-recovered-covid-19-patients.html.

“World Central Kitchen.” World Central Kitchen, wck.org/.

Yu, Alan. “How COVID-19 Led to a Blood Shortage, and Why That’s Troubling.” WHYY, WHYY, 1 May 2020, whyy.org/articles/how-covid-19-led-to-a-blood-shortage-and-why-thats-troubling/.

Originally published at https://www.futurehindsight.com on May 2, 2020.

Future Hindsight is a weekly podcast that aims to spark civic engagement through in-depth conversations with citizen changemakers.